Amps n More
September 06, 2010, 03:51:47 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:     Schematic Heaven    Ted's Home Page
                                                                                                               
Tube Data       Bias Calculator        Tone Stack Calculator   Preamp Calculator   Electronics Calculators     Weber Kits
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Anyone else get a spam PM on here?  (Read 114 times)
michael patrick
Advanced
**
Posts: 55



View Profile Email
« on: July 30, 2010, 03:34:28 PM »

 Rant

Those assholes just don't give up...

Logged
billybythelake
Top Of The Heap
*****
Posts: 2170

williammanser@msn.com billybythelake
View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2010, 05:29:27 PM »

Not sure but might have just gotten one.
Something about free software I think.
Also getting phishing scam e-mails that purport to be from Hotmail saying to give certain info or they will close my account. that one doesn't appear to be from the service but rathr from someone who deals in hacking software I believe.

SOme very persistent scammers out there..... Char29

b Thinking
Logged

billybythelake
michael patrick
Advanced
**
Posts: 55



View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2010, 05:49:15 PM »

Yeah, it was the "free" software. Um, yeah, I'll download anything as long as it's free...  screen
Logged
billybythelake
Top Of The Heap
*****
Posts: 2170

williammanser@msn.com billybythelake
View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2010, 08:38:14 AM »

Right , if you want free software with no strings attached go to CNET and you can find both free software and free for trial software and know you are not getting malware instead.
While the offer might be legit it might be trail version stuff and if you end up buying the guy might earn a commission. That would make him a middle man since those companies often will send you a trail version anyhow.

b OM
Logged

billybythelake
michael patrick
Advanced
**
Posts: 55



View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2010, 09:26:55 AM »

I was thinking that the link would more likely take you to a bunch of trojan viruses... TNT
Logged
billybythelake
Top Of The Heap
*****
Posts: 2170

williammanser@msn.com billybythelake
View Profile Email
« Reply #5 on: July 31, 2010, 10:17:19 AM »

Yeah that would be the Phishing scam version. They offer something, and you  catch a virus
Logged

billybythelake
bloozmahn
Master
****
Posts: 312



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: July 31, 2010, 12:14:35 PM »

i'm not generally in favor the death penalty, but some of these virus "programmers", if not death - at least deserve many severe beatings.  screen
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.8 | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!